The calm before the storm

I always call this time of year “the calm before the storm” because the teachers are getting to know their kids and vice versa, therefore I need to wait before I can start my groups, get the Peer Pals program going, etc. I do have 5 individual students that I started seeing this week and will continue weekly with them throughout the year. I anticipate this number to go up (as it has every year in the past). I also sent out my classroom lesson sign up sheet for the Legacy trait of the month for September which is “Listening Actively”. Those lessons will start the week of September 8th.

Nadine Vitullo and I also started our meetings with the newly combined Student Council/PBIS club. We met twice this week in order to video the kids doing skits on listening actively in different parts of the school (i.e. hallways, Specials, the classroom, and recess). I was very impressed with the kids. They did a great job!  Nadine is the tech wizard so she will be using “I Movie” to make the video to send out to all the teachers. The teachers can then show it to their classes at their convenience. She will also be teaching me how to use “I Movie” (since I’m technologically challenged) and then I will be making the next video for “Expressing Yourself Respectfully”.

Tuesday night I attended the “100 mile club kick off meeting” at Skyline High School. It was a great introduction to the 100 mile club program. I will be helping our PE teacher out (i.e. running with the kids) starting the week of September 8th.

TGIF and I hope everyone has an awesome three day weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

